West Kirby

This feels a bit like stealing somebody else’s thunder, but what the hell. Pip and I spent three hours walking and fooling about on the beach at West Kirby on Sunday evening. I say beach, but it is a good mile’s walk to the sea over the sand towards Hilbre Island. The far horizon is dotted with wind farms nowadays but I like them. They add to the feeling of isolation as the sun goes down and the only other people around are miles away towards Hoylake. They say that there is a good reason why the major religions sprang up in desert regions, and you can see why when you are out alone on the sands at sunset. Pip always goes a bit doo-lally when she has this much space to run into and a big sky over her head.

7 Responses to “West Kirby”


  1. 1 OS August 11, 2010 at 6:51 am

    Ha hah. We shall see you on a camel yet. The new…

    It happens when you get old. Soldier in desert – camel – turban – arab dress – I can’t remember his name. You’ll have to remind me.

    Anyway…Pippa looks Happy, and this pic will piss winger off. 🙂

    M.x

  2. 2 OS August 11, 2010 at 6:52 am

    LAWRENCE OF ARABIA!

    HAH

    🙂

  3. 3 markelt August 11, 2010 at 7:38 am

    I don’t see why winger will be pissed off. I know I’ve nicked his schtick for this one but there you go.

  4. 4 Stephen Foster August 11, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    You’re just a wannabee amatuer Elt, how could I possibly be pissed?

    However, ‘The Adventures of Kirby Pip’ does have a ring to it.

  5. 5 Stephen Foster August 11, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Right, I’m off to blog on the latest thinking in human crypto-dymanic relationships. *

    * dammit I wish I’d thought of this one minute earlier. Curses

  6. 6 markelt August 11, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    So amateurish, that image of Pip bestriding the Dee Estuary was taken on my mobile.

  7. 7 OS August 12, 2010 at 9:49 am

    “So amateurish, that image of Pip bestriding the Dee Estuary was taken on my mobile.”

    Ah, now I understand the strange colours. But they look right, if you *no what I mean.

    I think winger is having some sort of a regression. That black cross thing on his blog has got me putting garlic on the back door.


Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Desk Jockey

Pages


